Chess Club

BCSD Chess Rage!
The BCSD Chess Club meets every:
afterschool - 5:30 pm
Community Campus Cafe
The club is open to all for social, recreation, or competitive chess to scholastic players and their families and friends.  

          BCSD Chess Club (formerly WRHS Chess Club) began in 1999 and boasted 8 members.  The club began participating in and sponsoring Tournaments in 2006 and now has about 30 members.  Hundreds of kids have benefited from tournaments, after school, during lunch, and other club sponsored activities.  Kids have engaged in numerous fund-raising projects that support our activities.  This past year (2010), WRHS presented Integrating Chess and Critical Thinking, an elective credit class for high school students.  In 2013, the WRHS Chess Club became the BCSD Chess Club to encourage all Blaine County school students to participate.  We also moved to Community Campus/ Silver Creek High School, as Mr. Porth accepted a new science position there.  Please Donate and help our club continue to sponsor tournaments, buy equipment, and help students.

National High School Championship
          2011 24th Place Team (330 teams total)
          2014 20th Place Blitz Team
          2014 20th Place Team
Idaho Scholastic Champions
          2008, 2009, 2010, 2014 high school
          2011 middle school

Ogden Scholastic Open 1st place team
          2007, 2008, 2010 high school
          2010 middle school

West Jordan Scholastic Open 1st place team
          2009, 2010 high school
          2011 middle school

West Jordan Scholastic Open 2nd place team
          2011, 2012 high school

Idaho State Scholastics, 2nd place
          2007, 2011, 2013 high school
          2010, 2014 middle school

Idaho State Scholastics,  3rd place
          2008 & 2009  middle school
          2012 high school

Idaho Novice Scholastic,  1st place
          2012 high school

Individual Awards:
National Champions
          2013 Desmond Porth, 1st place, class, Blitz.
Idaho State School Championship
          2014  Desmond Porth, 1st place, 11th gr.
                    Cooper Dean, 1st place, 9th grade
                    Tyler Avila, 2nd place, 12th grade
                    Journey Iverson, 2nd place, 11th gr.
                    Levi Catangcatang, 3rd place, 11th gr.
                    Andre Murphy, 3rd place, 10th gr.
          2013 Megan Jones, 1st place, 12th grade
                   Desmond Porth, 2nd place, 10th gr.
          2012 Chase Huchinson, 1st pl., 10th gr.
                   Matt Reidy, 2nd place, 10th grade
          2011 Nick Bruck, 1st place, 12th grade
                   Andrew Uriarte, 2nd place, 12th gr.
          2010 Andrew Uriarte, 2nd place, 11th gr.
                   Juve Ruiz, 2nd place, 12th grade

      The BCSD Chess Club philosphy is to train students in the game of chess.  The BCSD Chess Club is an all-inclusive, K-12, extra-curricular program that emphasizes intellectual and academic development of one's mind through the sport of chess and related activities.  Our goal is to develop sportsmanship, character, responsibility and to emphasize the importance of mental exercise.  Chess offers a lifetime of enjoyment and competition that promotes positive growth of one's mind.

2013-14  Pres. Andre Murphy, Vice Pres. Wesley Brimstein
2012-13  Pres. Desmond Porth(2nd Sem.) & Pres. Riley Clark (1st Sem.), Vice Pres. Anna Murphy
2011-12  Pres. Desmond Porth & Pres. Riley Clark
2010-11 Pres. Nick Bruck & Andrew Uriarte & Vice Pres. Miles Hendrix
2009-10  Pres. Nick Bruck & VPs Taylor Walton & Shane Breuss
2008-09  President Kitt Connor & Vice President Danny Mills  
2007-08  President Max Bates, Kitt Connor, Johnny Dilley

WRHS Chess Champions:
2012-13  Co-Champions Matt Reidy & Desmond Porth
2011-12  Desmond Porth
2010-11  Nick Bruck
2009-10  Taylor Walton
2008-09  Nick Bruck
2007-08  Johnny Dilley
2006-07  Johnny Dilley

WRHS Blitz Champions:
2013-14  Keegan Crowson & Andre Murphy
2012-13  Desmond Porth
2011-12  Desmond Porth
2010-11  Nick Bruck & Miles Hendrix
2009-10  Nick Bruck
2008-09  Danny Mills
2007-08  Dexter Gannon

WRHS Bughouse Champions:
2013-14  Desmond Porth & Tyler Avila
2012-13  (none - only 1 team showed up to play)
2011-12  Desmond Porth & Harrison Mymatt
2010-11  Andrew Uriarte & Curly Ellis
2009-10  Andrew Uriarte & Curly Ellis
2008-09  Kitt Connor & Danny Mills
2007-08  Johnny Dilley & Dexter Gannon